My Vision for Nature – Appreciating the smaller things in the natural world

Next weekend marks a momentous event. Young conservationists will meet together for an event entitled ‘A Vision for Nature’. This conference is organised by A Focus On Nature and aims to help secure nature’s future by giving young conservationists a way to communicate and learn from one another. I’m not going to this event but hope to go to any similar events in the future.

 

As I can’t make the event I thought I would share my ‘Vision for Nature’. As most readers of this blog will know I have a interest in a wide range of taxonomic groups but especially have a thing for invertebrates. Therefore my vision for nature is for people to appreciate invertebrates more. There are thought to be around 40,000 invertebrate species in Britain and 65% of the worlds animals are invertebrates, yet they are often overlooked because they are not as cute and cuddly in many cases as the charismatic megafauna. Yet without invertebrates there would be no plants, birds, mammals etc. Yet many species of invertebrates are in danger and there is relatively few people looking out for them apart from wonderful organisations such as Buglife. I hope that I can not only do my bit to help change this but also encourage more people to do so too. This way it will have affects on helping conserve other animal species and the plant species that rely on these invertebrates too!

 

‘If we and the rest of the back-boned animals were to disappear overnight, the rest of the world would get on pretty well. But if the invertebrates were to disappear, the world’s ecosystems would collapse.’ – Sir David Attenborough

 

14304240084_9d4d617619_z

Who says invertebrates aren’t cute and cuddly!

 

I don’t think getting people passionate about invertebrates will be an overnight thing but I hope that by the time I am old I can look back and see that we have made progress, before it is too late! Many more people support charities like the RSPB compared to charities like Buglife so hopefully in the future more people will support Buglife and help make a difference that way! There is also many things that we as individuals can do to help invertebrates:

  • Garden in a more wildlife friendly way including not using pesticides, leaving space for nature and selecting plants that favour invertebrates
  • Put pressure on others to care more about invertebrates including not buying foods which are not wildlife friendly
  • Surveying invertebrates and reporting your sightings so that we can see which species we most need to protect
  • Finally, and most importantly, share the love for these unique and beautiful creatures

 

14340789247_bff1965392_z

3 responses to “My Vision for Nature – Appreciating the smaller things in the natural world

  1. Some real food for thought here. Another aspect is that understanding the weird, wonderful and colourful creatures that inhabit our gardens and wild places is fun and interesting. It’s also a great excuse for a more laid-back approach to gardening. What’s not to love? My own piece on mini-beasts in the garden http://uckfieldwildlife.blogspot.co.uk/2014/08/of-beasties-and-blooms.html

  2. I will do my best to do as you ask and spread the love 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Vision for Nature: Worlds within Worlds | Considering Birds

Leave a Reply

