A Daily Dose of Something Wild

I can hardly believe it but today is the 1st of June and the first day of the #30dayswild campaign. This campaign was founded by the Wildlife Trusts and aims to get people to try do something wild every day for a month. I have decided that this would be a good thing for me to take part in as it is quite simple and will reinvigorate my love for being outside which has faded slightly (for various reasons which I don’t want to explain) in the last few weeks. I am also worried by the fact that children are becoming disconnected with the natural world, through researching this I have discovered the National Trust’s ‘50 things to do before you’re 11 and 3/4 ‘ campaign and am shocked that I haven’t done some of the things on the list myself, so aim to do some of those things.

I will be tweeting about my #30dayswild experiences at @ryanclarknature and will write a blog post at the end showing all 30 moments of wildness. Some current ideas that I have include:

  • Exploring somewhere that I haven’t been before
  • Go wild swimming at Kings Cross pond – this is due to be booked soon and will be wonderful! Just look at the pond!
  • Lie down in a wild place for half an hour cloud watching
  • Spend an hour or so reading a book under a tree
  • Go for a barefoot walk
  • Climb a tree
  • Camp out somewhere wild
  • Paddle in a stream

I am looking for more ideas so do contact me if you have any suggestions!

3 responses to “A Daily Dose of Something Wild

  1. I’m looking forward to your wild adventures 🙂

  2. I’ve started a second blog for 30 days wild and published three ideas posts on there which may give you an idea or two. I started doing the NTs 50 things a couple of years ago – progress is shameful though! I have done lots of them before, when I was a child, but I thought it was a good excuse to do them all again 😉

    http://louises30dayswild.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/my-wild-inspirations-1-30.html

    http://louises30dayswild.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/my-wild-inspirations-31-60.html

    http://louises30dayswild.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/my-wild-inspirations-61-90.html

  3. Pingback: 30 Days Wild: Days 1 – 10 | Ryan Clark Ecology

Leave a Reply

