Moth Resources

Today is the final day of pollinator awareness week so I have decided that I would highlight some resources to help with moth identification.

First up is the UK Moths website. This is a great resource containing all the information that you could ever want to know about moths in the UK, it does have a beginners top 20 moths, but apart from that, can be quite taunting to look at initially.

That is why I would recommend looking at ‘What’s Flying Tonight’ resources. These tell you the moths most commonly recorded in the respective area in the month/ week (depending on the website). I live in Buckinghamshire, so the Berkshire resources are handy, although I prefer the Hampshire What’s Flying Tonight resource. There are similar websites for other counties so worth looking out for!

19441779035_2dc1a73e26_z (1)

In terms of books, I use the Field Guide to the Moths of Britain and Ireland and the Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and IrelandΒ . Both use illustrations rather than photos and are great books! I just hope the Bee version coming out on the 5th November will be as good, I feel it will be!

CHuUoPcWsAEH9MH

If you are on Twitter, then I cannot recommend the #TeamMoth hashtag enough. Here mothers from Britain and beyond share knowledge and help each other.

Good luck and happy mothing!

8 responses to “Moth Resources

  1. Thanks, I find moths surprisingly hard to ID. I also find the first site you mentioned off putting, so I usually just ask you πŸ˜‰

  2. Best blog post ever? πŸ˜€
    Personally I prefer Concise Guide over Field Guide due to the layout. I go to the Field Guide for the more detailed information when needed. Plus I use the books by Chris Manley – notably for the caterpillars, but it can be useful to see the moths in photo form as well as illustration.

  3. Pingback: Pollinator Awareness Week – A Summary | Ryan Clark Ecology

Leave a Reply

