Grounded.

I hopped out of bed and drew back the curtains. No sign of the moon. Please say it hadn’t gone behind a tree?! Like a child at Christmas I ran to the landing window, trying not to wake anyone else up. There it was, the blood moon. It was a deeper and darker red than I had imagined.

I will never look up at the sky in the same way again after last night’s ‘Super Blood Moon’ . I was initially unsure as to whether or not to even set my alarm, could I really be bothered to wake up at 3am? I had fallen asleep to the most beautiful  super moon, a treat in itself. It shone brightly through my curtains as the cool autumnal breeze blew through the window across my skin. I always keep the window open where possible, so as to not feel cut off from the world outside.

Looking out of the window at the blood moon, I noticed how distant it looked. I was blinded by the street lights below and the sound of motorbikes zooming around the housing estate, even at 3am. I wanted to be out there! I grabbed  the nearest clothes I could find and my camera and sneaked outside; not stopping for shoes. I opened the back door and positioned myself on the grass. The cold, dewy blades embracing my bare feet. Grounded. There it was, the super blood moon. I instantly started trying to take photos of it. To savour to moment. But soon realised that this was pointless, how could a photo describe my feelings at the time? I placed my camera down and stared at the sky, wondering how many people were doing the same.  We instinctively are drawn to rare and precious things and look up, feeling how small we are.  I was truly awestruck.

The stars seemed to shine especially bright and I was lost in their wonder for a while. I blocked out the noises and the lights around me and focused on what really matters to me, the natural world. I felt freedom. I too thought of how small and insignificant we are compared to all the other worlds out there.  A fox barked in the distance and I zoned back in to the world around me and looked down at my, now rather cold, feet. We look up at the sky in awe yet often forget about how wonderful this planet is, this planet that we are slowly poisoning.

DSC_0240 DSC_0248 DSC_0247

5 responses to “Grounded.

  1. Our lovely moon connects all of us little beings down here on our precious planet. We should stop and contemplate it more often.

  2. So beautifully written 🙂 – I wish I had a more creative mind and could write so well. Your photos are good too. Great post!

  3. Lovely account, Ryan. My brother and I both shared the sense of awe, but he was shocked to discover that none of his work colleagues had bothered to view the moon. They didn’t even understand his joy at the sight. Sad.

  4. Pingback: A Reflection on 2015 | Ryan Clark Ecology

Leave a Reply

